May 19, 1997

Schnucks Clayton & Hanley Store Associate Chosen As Checker of the Year

ST. LOUIS - Karen Church, service center manager at the Schnucks store at Clayton & Hanley roads and a resident of Webster Groves, was honored recently as the company-wide Checker of the Year. The award was presented at a recent breakfast by Craig D. Schnuck, chairman and chief executive officer of Schnuck Markets, Inc., and Scott C. Schnuck, president and chief operating officer.

The award is given each year to a checker or customer service cashier with exceptional performance in such areas as friendliness and courtesy to customers and co-workers; job knowledge and skill; and honesty, integrity and respect for others. The company winner is chosen from 10 division winners. Division winners are selected from Checker of the Year winners at each of Schnucks' 94 stores in Missouri, Illinois, Kansas and Indiana.

Other division winners include:

Church joined Schnucks in 1976 as a checker at Schnucks' Clayton and Lindbergh store, where she was promoted in 1990 to service center manager. She transferred to the Clayton & Hanley store in 1995. Church has been selected by her peers three times for the Schnucks Associate of the Year honor and is a four-time winner of the store Checker of the Year award.

"Karen is an outstanding associate," says Store Manager Debbie Carnaghi. "She is friendly to all customers and associates and often goes out of her way to help others. Karen is cooperative, has a great attitude and is fun to work with."

Church will enjoy a one-week vacation for two in Hawaii as the Schnucks Checker of the Year. Division winners received a weekend trip for two to the Lake of the Ozarks. All store winners received an engraved crystal award, a $200 Schnucks gift certificate and new name badges identifying them as Checkers of the Year.

Founded in 1939, Schnuck Markets, Inc. is a family-owned regional supermarket company with 94 stores in Missouri, Illinois, Kansas and Indiana.

# # #

Editor's note: Karen Church is a resident of Webster Groves, Mo. (63119).

Dawn Gass is a resident of Granite City, Ill. (62040).

Agnes "Aggie" LeRuez is a resident of Millstadt, Ill. (62260).

Myrtle "Marty" Koste is a resident of Arnold, Mo. (63010).

Nancy Chambers is a resident of North St. Louis County, Mo. (63134).

Fawn Lunau-Aslin is a resident of Overland, Mo. (63114).

Teresa Sawyer is a resident of South St. Louis, Mo. (63139).

Nell Johnson is a resident of North St. Louis, Mo. (63107).

Pat Adelmann is a resident of St. Peters, Mo. (63376).

Linda Gould is a resident of Prairie Village, Kan. (66208).

# # #

For more information, contact Marie Casey at Casey Communications, Inc., 314/962-0944, or Dee Wetzel at Schnuck Markets, Inc., 314/994-4608.